Travelling Inside the Schengen Area

The Schengen area has been made up of the EU countries (apart from Great Britain, Ireland, Bulgaria, Romania and Cyprus) and of Norway, Iceland and Switzerland that are not member states of the EU, but they have made an associate agreement, on the basis of which it is possible to travel to these countries under the same conditions as when travelling to other EU countries. There are certain visa practices and border control practices. Under the Schengen Convention, internal borders of the Schengen countries may be crossed at any point without any checks on persons being carried out. Those persons crossing external borders of the Schengen area will be subject to entry and departure checks as before. In Finland, entry and departure checks are carried out by the Frontier Guard. Applying the Schengen acquis does not change import and export rights. Regular customs checks were abolished at the internal borders of the EU countries when Finland became a member of the EU in 1995. Åland’s exceptional position in view of taxation will have no effect on applying the Schengen acquis in the region.

Take your passport or identity card with you

Although there are no longer regular checks on persons in the Schengen area, nationals of EU countries are obliged to prove their identity, if necessary, as agreed upon jointly.People may be subject to passport control for example when flying from one Schengen country to another on a flight, which continues after a stop-over to a non-Schengen country.