Autumn Gems on Friday 25.11 at 18.00 Poiju-sali

Published: 16 November 2022 at 08:47

Autumn Gems

Oulu Symphony Orchestra Chamber Musicians proudly present the coming concert program. The composers we encounter this time are Schumann, with his two contrasting "alter-egos" in fictionalised form "Florestan" the extrovert, passionate self and 'Eusebius', the introverted, lyrical counterpart, and Shostakovich divided between two faces – the public one acceptable to the Soviet authorities and the private one which expressed his inner self.

The two works we present, Schumann's piano quartet n.2 op.47 and Shostakovich's piano quintet, with about one century gap, represent two gems of the chamber music repertoire in general as well as in the specific production of the two composers.



-Free admission-




Robert Schumann (1810-1856) - Piano Quartet No.2 in Eb Major, op.47 (1842)




Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) - Piano Quintet in g minor, op.57 (1940)


Oulu Symphony Orchestra's Chamber Musicians:

Lasse Joamets, violin

Nadya  Pugacheva, violin

Helinä Nissi, viola

Harri Österman, cello

Outi Nissi, piano