A Picture of Melodies in Poiju-hall on Fri 3.3. at 6 pm

Published: 24 February 2023 at 15:37

A Picture of Melodies


The program that we present at our season's second concert by Oulu Symphony Orchestra's Chamber Musicians explores intimate sonorities in duo and trio ensembles. The music, written between the mid-1800s and 1900s, accompanies the listener on a journey of imagery through beautiful melodies in dialogue with a romantic and impressionist character. 

In addition to the viola sonata by Henri Vieuxtemps and the trio by Mél Bonis, compositions which emerged within that period and historical context, the music of the French Alain Bernaud and the Italian Nino Rota, both linked to the world of musical narration for images and cinema in the 1900s, also maintain the same leitmotif of tonality applied to their contemporaneity. 

We welcome you all and, as always, admission is free! 

We remind you that there are two concerts in a row with the same program performed twice:
Friday 3.3.2023, 18.00 at the Poiju Hall of the Oulu University of Applied Sciences
Saturday 4.3.2023, 15.00 at the Tulindberg Hall of the Oulu Music Center
Alain Bernaud (1932-2020)
Hallucinations for bassoon and piano (1978)
Ann-Louise Wägar, bassoon
Sara Larikka, piano
Henri François Joseph Vieuxtemps (1820-1881)
Sonata in B-flat major for viola and piano, Op.36 (1863)
Maestoso in B-flat major
Barcarolla (Andante con moto) in G minor
Finale scherzando (Allegretto) in B-flat major
Johanna Tuikka, viola
Sara Larikka, piano
Mél Bonis (1858-1937)
Suite en trio op.59 (1903)
Pastorale (Andante con moto) in G minor
Emma Tessier, flute
Lasse Joamets, violin 
Vanessa Cunha, piano 
Nino Rota (1911-1979)
Trio for flute, violin and piano (1958)
Emma Tessier, flute 
Lasse Joamets, violin 
Vanessa Cunha, piano
Allegro ma non troppo
Andante sostenuto
Allegro vivace con spirito 
Duration of the concert: 1h15 min. including the intermission